Search This Website

Monday 23 December 2019

Jharkhand VIDHANSABHA General Election Result Live updated

Jharkhand VIDHANSABHA General Election Result Live updated

Jharkhand seems to be slipping from the BJP's hands as the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress alliance reached the majority mark, shooting ahead of the ruling BJP -- 40 seats to 30 -- as votes for the Jharkhand election are being counted.
With election trends showing clear lead for the alliance, celebrations have begun in the JMM and Congress camp with party workers bursting crackers and offering sweets to those assembled there.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das, however, remained confident that the BJP will retain the government in the state. "The margins are very narrow... so narrow that it can completely turn the leads as what you see at the moment. Those who are celebrating can do what they feel. No one can stop someone from celebrating," he said. Mr Das is trailing in Jamshedpur East, a seat that he has been winning since 1995. A party needs to get 41 seats to form government in the state. The election was held in five phases between November 30 and December 20.

Jharkhand is the third BJP-ruled state after Maharashtra and Haryana that voted this year after the national election, in which Prime Minister Narendra Modi won a resounding mandate to continue for a second term. It is critical for the BJP to retain the state after losing power in Maharashtra, where its decades-old alliance with the Shiv Sena also collapsed.
Both BJP and Congress alliance made their best efforts to lure the voters. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President and Union Home Minister Amit Shah addressed nine rallies each, former Congress President Rahul Gandhi addressed five rallies and Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra addressed one rally.


Chief Minister Raghubar Das is up against ex-cabinet colleague Saryu Rai in Jamshedpur East, which the former has been winning this seat since 1995.